30 ways to make a panda out of stuff you already have in your house – part 1

This is my online activity series which was inspired by Violet’s Veg*n eComics’ online presentation of Lavender Laine’s story, What’s good for the goose is not good for the panda

If you follow those links they will lead you to see for yourself the inspiration for this project.  I have challenged myself to create this series because this story is illustrated with so many different innovative collages, it really opens your eyes to all the ways you can make pictures.

My challenge is to try to make some myself!  I am not artistic, so I will try my best, but do have a look at Laine’s book on Violet’s website, because it is very inspiring and motivating.

I hope you enjoy this series, and Lavender’s book, and I hope you will want to try collage too, because art is fun.

My first panda is made out of newspaper cuttings.  I looked through an old newspaper and cut out the parts which were coloured black, in photos, and I also cut out sky and leaves and trees, from photos.  I didn’t need to find white for this picture, because I worked on a white piece of paper, which is a good idea.

untitled2

If I wanted, I could keep looking and find lots more green and blue to fill all the white spaces around the panda, but I am pleased with this, so I didn’t.

For the second segment of this activity, and how to make a panda out of some more things around your house, please click here! 

The third way to make a panda out of things you have around your house! Click here! 

8 thoughts on “30 ways to make a panda out of stuff you already have in your house – part 1

Leave a Reply

